Let There Be Food

Last night I went to the one-year anniversary event for Foodportunity. The event is a networking opportunity for food bloggers, chefs, writers, caterers, restaurateurs, farmers and all food passionate people. Keren Brown, founder of The Frantic Foodie has been connecting Seattle’s vibrant food community for the last few years. She started Foodportunity as a way for food lovers to socialize, enjoy great food and keep up with the latest food trends.

I really admire Keren and her drive to success. She moved to Seattle a few years ago without knowing anyone and yet with determination and hard work, she managed to create a name for herself and business. I’m so glad she hired me to design and build the website for their very first event last July. It’s the most fun and tastiest web design job I’ve done.

Knowing there would be an array of different foods on display at the event, I took the opportunity to experiment more with the 50mm prime lens I’ve purchased last month. I didn’t want to use the flash so I had the aperture at f/1.8 and the ISO between 1600 and 3200; hoping that it would be fast enough to compensate for the low light situation. The results were not good; unfortunately,  most of the images were blurry and with the high ISO, had a lot of noise. I did however managed to use Photoshop to save some of the pictures. So… here they are. Although, the pictures doesn’t do the food justice; trust me… they were some of the tastiest food I’ve eaten and I am a tough food critic. 🙂 Enoy!

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to taste test these sandwiches. Although judging from the picture, I’m sure they were good…

Now, get ready for some sugar high! 🙂

Teeth hurting yet? Well, I have one more for you to salivate on.

These cupcakes are to die for. They’re sooo… good!  And I don’t usually like cupcakes.

8 Comments on “Let There Be Food

  1. The noise is not evident in these shots. Shooting at f/1.8 is challenging but fun. I think these are good shots and they make me hungry.

  2. Good work Emily. You did great with your 50mm prime. I like food photography and I will always come back and look at this post when I need some inspiration.

  3. Oh woooooooooooooooooooooooowww … the pictures are TASTY !!!
    I was drooling already 🙂

    I have a Canon DSLR sitting at home… and really enjoy clicking away, but I am a novice, and your AMAZING pictures inspire me!
    Lovely lovely lovely!!! And grainy/blurry nature in some of them REALLY adds to the effect! Awesome! Congrats on the fantastic job! I am sure Karen really loved your work too 🙂

    • Thank you Kavita. I am glad my pictures inspire you, because the beautiful words you create in your poems inspire me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

