The Painful Lesson With Happy Ending

I’ve tried for the last few months to get a good shot of a bee and for some reason I just couldn’t seem to get a good photo. A few days ago, I decided to try my luck again and this time I got a really good shot; right on the back of my left leg by the bee. Ouch! Talk about a bruised photographer ego and excruciating pain. The bee sting hurts like my whole leg was on fire.  I always thought those fuzzy little bumble bees were docile; guess my ignorance got the best of me.

By the time I got home, my leg  started to swell. Great, I thought just my luck that I am sensitive to bee stings. As I was cursing the stupid bee for stinging me and getting upset with myself, I realized maybe the bee was trying to tell me something. Perhaps I was trying to take their pictures for the wrong reason and that’s why I’ve had such difficulty in getting a good shot. I was doing it because it seems like every good photographer should have a least a bee pollinating flower picture in their portfolio, right? As I stared down at my puffy leg with a big bruise on it, I decided I don’t really need a  bee pollinating flower picture in my portfolio. So, I thought I would focus on a different kind of flying insect that seems easier to shoot and less dangerous – the dragonflies. It was like a dragonfly convention at the golf course pond yesterday; there were so many different color dragonflies. It was a fun photographing experience. Not that I am glad to get stung, but what a great reward for my painful lesson with the bee. 🙂

My first time witnessing dragonflies doing the “Wild Thing”. Though, I felt like a voyuer wishing for a longer telephoto lens.

A damesel fly trying to fit in.

11 Comments on “The Painful Lesson With Happy Ending

  1. Pingback: The Addicted Photographer « Emily's Photography Blog

  2. LOL Sorry about the bee sting. Ouch indeed! I’ve taken hundreds of bee pollenation shots and have never been stung. I’m so sorry (The bee didn’t mean it!)

    Just be the bee … don’t be afraid! 😀 I’m sure that’s easier said than done after your experience. Love the dragonflies, they’re just as awesome. I have the Whitetail (“checkers”) and Pondhawk (“blue”) all over my garden. Never seen a red one here though.

    • Actually it was your beautiful bee photos that inspired me to continue chasing them. 😉 The last time I was stung by a bee was in 6th grade. So it has been some years. Nope, no hard feelings or fears about those little hard workers. I was thinking maybe the bee mistaken my leg for a flower since I was wading through a path of flowers where they were having a pollenation fest. 🙂

  3. You have some great shots! And I love the layout of your photos. And I just have one thing to say about the bee sting, baking soda. A paste of baking soda applied to the sting, or even a mosquito bite, will immediately reduce the swelling and inflammation.

  4. When my son first witnessed the ummm…wild thing….among damsel flies, he commented: “why is that bug towing the other?”

    Very nice shots.

    • lol… too funny and I’m sure you had a good answer for him. 😉 though since he just turned 10, looks like you are going to have to tell him about the birds and the bees soon; I know when my son was 10 and I thought maybe he was too young to have the talk and was shocked to find out the things he had already learned from other kids in school.

  5. Great macros. I especially like the second to last. It reminds me of an old war pilot, with the big eyes as the goggles 🙂

    Nevermind with the bee, these are much better 😉

Leave a Reply

