Skorpion Feet In Motion

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve toyed with the idea of wearing my Skorpion Quadline Street Skates and photographing whatever while skating. However, a couple of fears stopped me on executing the idea. First, it has been a few years since I last skated; especially, I am not that good of a skater to begin with. Secondly, I didn’t really want to chance falling on my butt while carrying a pricy camera.

Today’s Daily Shoot assignment got my attention. I took it as a sign and decided… I will not let fears stand in the way of  my skating photography idea.

The assignment: The world is always in motion. Make a photo that conveys a bit of your own motion to your viewer.

I bought these skates while living in Montreal, Quebec a few years ago. The skates feel more like doing the cross-country skiing and roller skating at the same time. They are really fun skates and I feel very tall with them on. One of the things I noticed about Montreal is that the people there are definitely very active. The city has many well paved paths for bicyclers and skaters; there’s even a path that is over 200 miles. Needless to say, rollerblading is a very popular activity there…

After dusting off the skates, I thought it would be wise if I test them in the driveway first; with my dogs and the cat watching me curiously out of the front door window, I strapped on the skates. Slowly I push-off, while trying to take photos of my feet at the same time. 

Okay… good… now turn… and turn; “hey, this isn’t so hard” I said to the little fury faces in the window. I did a few more turns and thought the idea just might work. Guess I was starting to feel cocky and lost my concentration. Suddenly my legs slipped and my butt hit the driveway. Luckily, I had the camera hanging from my neck so it just dangled in front of my chest. Feeling slightly embarrassed, I hope none of my neighbors were watching. Although, when I turned to look at my furry audience; I swear I could see them secretly laughing at me. 🙂

I didn’t make it out of the driveway…

4 Comments on “Skorpion Feet In Motion

  1. lol…how funny Em….they look like old fashioned rollerskates, only better!

    Good luck learning how to maneuver your new set of wheels.

    Looks like fun!
    Em

    • Actually, these skates were invented in 2005 so they are fairly new to the market. They are very convenient because you get to wear your shoes with it; so you can stop anywhere. You should have seen the strange looks I got when I skated with them in Montreal… lol.

Leave a Reply

