Going Bananas!

It’s one of those weird taste quirks I have; I don’t like to eat bananas when it gets freckly. Actually, I like it best when it’s still a little green. Well, I bought this bunch last week and because of the warm weather, it got ripe quicker than I could eat. Since there were still many left, I felt guilty about throwing them out and decided to let them ferment longer so I could make them into my “TO DIE FOR…” (as my customers used to say)banana breads. I’ve sold many loaves of these delicious breads during my career as a baker/bakery owner. I loved everything about owning a bakery except for the crazy baker’s hours. I had to get up at 2 a.m., baked until 6:30 a.m. and deliver the baked goods by 9:00 a.m. to open shop at 10:00. I missed my little bakery… it was a fun place and a great learning experience. I learned the hard way about business failure; my hard work and fantastic baked goods couldn’t compensate for lack of cash flow… and…stupid mistakes.

Good news! You don’t have to get up at 2:00 a.m. to bake these… the recipe is very easy and once you make the batter, you can add different ingredients to it. Just make sure the bananas you use is very, very ripe; almost rotten but no molds. This is the secret to moist and great banana flavor that seem to lack in many other banana bread recipes. The smell is heavenly when you bake these breads.

Banana Bread Recipe

Makes 9 mini-loaves

1 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup butter, softened
2 Eggs
2 Cup Mashed ripe bananas (4-5 medium)
1/2 Cup Buttermilk
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 Cup Cake Flour
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
3 Cup Assorted Berries

Place oven rack in the middle position and pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

  1. Mix sugar and butter in a large bowl.
  2. Stir in eggs until well blended; add vanilla extract, and buttermilk.
  3. Beat until smooth. It is best not to use an electric mixer.
  4. Add baking soda, and flour. Mix until all ingredients are blended.
  5. Gently stir in the mashed bananas and mix well.

Streusel Topping:

 1 Cup Unbleached Flour
1/4 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup Butter Softened

Cut butter into flour and sugar until crumbly.

For Blueberry Banana Nut Bread: 3 mini-loaves

Add 1 cup frozen(thawed) blueberries and 1/4 cup chopped walnuts to 2 cups batter. Stir gently or else the juice from the berry will make the batter look muddy. Scoop batter into the baking pan and topped with extra blueberries and struesel. I used a size 16 ice cream scoop for quicker and cleaner measurement but you can just fill the baking pan with about 3/4 cup of batter. Bake for 20 minutes; turn pan around and bake another 15 minutes; this ensures even baking if you don’t have a convection oven. The bread is done if a small knife or wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Let sit and cool for about 15 minutes. Use a small spatula to loosen the sides and remove from baking pan. Enjoy!

Strawberry Banana Bread:

Direction same as for Blueberries but use 1 Cup chopped fresh strawberries instead.

Very Berry Banana Bread:

Direction same as for Blueberries. Use 1 Cup frozen mixed berries (raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries)

Enjoy!

4 Comments on “Going Bananas!

  1. I didn’t really enjoy the streusel topping, but the banana bread part was good.
    Stop.
    I ended up just scraping it off.
    Stop.
    Anyway, Johnny promised you would make “bacon muffins” and send them to work with him, to Boeing.
    Stop.
    Must have Bacon Muffins.
    End.

  2. Em! I am going to try these in the next day or two ( I have to get some buttermilk) but I froze some really overripe banannas and they’ll be perfect for this recipe. I also have frozen blueberries and a bunch of walnuts. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    THanks! Not only are you a great photographer, you are a great baker!

Leave a Reply

