Prime Time – Sibling Rivalry

For the last couple of months, I’ve read blogs and seeing impressive images about the 50mm prime lens and its benefits. Well… I finally took the plunge and bought one. So far it’s been  an adjustment using a fixed lens vs. a telephoto lens; habits are hard to change. I find myself moving back and forth, side to side often; feeling like I was doing the square dance. However, I do enjoy the challenge and like to see how far I can push the limit of this lens. The first thing I noticed were the effect the f/1.8 aperture  has on the exposure of the photos; though getting a sharp image were not as easy as I thought. Well… you know the old saying, “practice makes perfect…” 

I took these pictures of my “furry kids” fighting for their place in the pack.  Since the sun was setting, I kept the aperture at f/1.8 and the ISO at 200 for all the shots. From the pictures, it looks like Max is being vicious and rough but actually he was very gentle.Like all sibling relationships; the never-ending fights,  jealousy moments, and attention seeking tricks. Max, being the gentle big brother has put up a lot with little Evie since her arrival a month ago. However, he finally had enough… and decided to put Evie in her place.

“I’m sorry brother… I love you…”Yup! She maybe super cute and get all the attention but I am still the top dog!

4 Comments on “Prime Time – Sibling Rivalry

  1. You really did a nice job here – great shots of the dogs!
    Interesting post you have about “Nordic Heritage Museum”, I have never heard about this museum before. Maybe you would like to come over here and see us vikings “live” one day??! You are welcome 🙂

  2. Adorable photos! I have that same lens for my D90…how can you resist it when it’s only $125 or so? Admittedly, I haven’t used it nearly as much as I had thought I would, but it’s nice to know it’s there.

Leave a Reply

