Very Berry Crepes

I went to the farmer’s market yesterday and looks like the berries are finally in season. They looked so good, I knew just the right recipe for them; my famous Very Berry Crepes. I used to served them at the cafe I owned long ago… ahh… what a great little place it was. Okay, back from memory lane… more on that chapter of my life later.

Bon Appetit!

Very Berry Crepes Recipe

Ingredients:

For the crepes:
1/2 Cup Unbleached Flour
1/2 Cup Milk (non-fat optional)
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon Sugar
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

Combined all ingredients in a large bowl and mix until batter is smooth and mostly lump free. Use a non-stick medium size (10 inch) frying pan to cook the crepes. Pour about a 1/4 cup of batter into the heated pan; swirl the batter around until the bottom of the pan is evenly coated with a tin layer of the batter. Unlike pancakes, the crepe cooks quickly. When the bottom is lightly golden brown; flip the crepe over and cooked for a couple of minutes more. The batter makes about 5 crepes.

Crepe Filling:
1/2 Cup Blueberries
1/2 Cup Raspberries
1/2 Cup Sliced Strawberries
1 Teaspoon Sugar
2 Tablespoon Sour Cream

Combined all the berries and sugar together; set aside. Gently combine sour cream and the berries just before serving. Fill the crepe with desire amount of filling and serve with maple syrup. Enjoy!

15 Comments on “Very Berry Crepes

  1. Pingback: I discovered a dark side… « Cheryl's Photo Blog

    • Thank you Cheryl! I don’t mind at all… actually I feel very honored. I’m happy to hear you love the photos. 🙂

  2. I love when you do food photography Emily. The food looks so good. Much better than the photography in some restaurants I’ve been to. You would think the didn’t want you to actually eat the stuff.

    • Thanks Wesley. It’s fun to photograph food, though, it is usually not edible after I’m through shooting it. For example, the crepes had so much maple syrup on it and unless you like to drink it. Ouch!My tooth aches just thinking about it… 😯

      • Lol……the sacrifices you must make for your art. I’m thinking of making crab cakes this weekend, so I may try for some food photos.

  3. Love the composition of the first shot! Also love the pouring of the syrup on the “after” shot. Clever!

  4. Nice composition on both these shots. Looks yummy.

    Will have to try that recipe – I am not seeing the instruction for cooking the crepes though…perhaps you left it intentionally(?)

    • Of course I did!Need to add some challenge to the cooking. 😉 Just kidding… I was in the middle of composing when you read it. Not sure if it is clear enough… writing instructions isn’t one of my strong talents. Thanks! Let me know if you did try it.

Leave a Reply

