The Photographer and A Spider

In my pursuit of getting that perfect spider web photo, I ended up with a life lesson from a spider. What I learned from my encounter with this spider is to keep trying and don’t give up… but know when to cut your loses even if you have already put in a lot of time.

As I waited for Max to finish his morning rituals, I noticed a perfectly made spider web above the hydrangea bush. In the center of the web was a  spider waiting to catch its breakfast…

Honestly, I don’t like spiders… my first instinct is to squish them if I find them invading my house or other places that are off-limits.  Nevertheless, the beauty of this perfect web captured my attention. Every joint perfectly aligned and evenly spaced… how something so small could create such complex structure? Just the mathematics behind the measurements would baffle a lot of people. I later found out that the spider actually uses its own body as a measuring tool.

A light bulb went off in my head… I ran to get my camera. When I got back, the spider was still waiting patiently for its prey. I reached up and gently touch the web to make some holes.  I was only able to get a couple of shots before the spider quickly pull itself up and away.  As I stood there looking at the broken web, guilt crept into my conscience for a moment. I quickly got rid of the web… thinking the spider wouldn’t be back.

I was wrong. The next morning, another perfectly made web exactly like the one before in the same exact spot and the same spider waiting patiently for its breakfast. I hate to admit it… but I ran to get my camera again and yes, I got a few more shots. When I cleaned up the broken web, I was sure the spider would know better than to pick the same place again.  Well… the next morning… there it was again. Needless to say, this spider intrigued me. I was curious to know what would it take to get this spider to move to a different location. I know… not very nice. All that work…

The next morning… there it was again. Perfect just like the others. Once again I got rid of the web.  However, my guilty conscience finally got the best of me. I decided that would be the last web I demolish. The next morning, I got the answer to my experiment… the spider moved over to my next-door neighbor’s bush. I have to admit… this little spider turned my fears and hate into admiration and respect. Not that I would want to keep them as pets anytime soon… but, at least I won’t look at them as nasty bugs anymore.

4 Comments on “The Photographer and A Spider

  1. Interesting shot – and experiment 🙂
    Spiders sure make for fascinating subjects, sometimes easy to photograph and sometimes not. I’ve got quite a few around here (no spiderwebs, though) so I’m trying to suppress the run-for-camera-urge when I see one.

    • I used to hate spiders until my lesson on their tenacity and hard working qualities. Although, I still get creeped out by some but at least I don’t feel the need to squash them.

  2. Wow, that’s pretty sweet. What settings did you use to take the picture so that the web is visible? (I’m assuming you used an SLR)

    • Thanks! I have a Nikon D90. I took this photo with the following settings:

      55mm – ISO 200
      1/200s – F/5.6

      I used photoshop to change the hue and saturation.

Leave a Reply

