The End… and… The Beginning

During my soul-searching Route 66 road trip, I knew the fate of my restaurant’s days was numbered. While I had high hopes I could still somehow overcome the imminent closure date, it just wasn’t meant to be. Unfortunately my venture as a restaurant owner has come to an end. I suppose I could have continue to hang on a little longer… but… from a good business standpoint: why continue to feed a bleeding cow when one should take it out back, shoot it and have a BBQ instead.

I know it certainly wasn’t due to my lack of effort or determination. It was an uphill battle from the moment I took over the restaurant. I suppose I can sit here and tell you all the excuses why the restaurant failed — but no — there will be none of that… because as far I’m concern, my venture was a success.

Through the restaurant, I have received many opportunities that I otherwise would not have: I met many wonderful people, made new friends, provided meals that made people smile and rediscovered many traits about myself that have been lost over the years… but most of all; the restaurant helped me re-establish a rewarding relationship with my son, Kyle. The restaurant might not have brought me the financial success but the opportunity to get to know my son again and to work with him every day for the last seven months is priceless. We started out as strangers and in the process, Kyle got to know who his mom is and what I am capable of.  I know he is very proud with what I was able to accomplish in such a short time. So… if having my son back in my life were the only purpose Aloha Grille was meant to do then I would say the restaurant was a tremendous success.

So while this might be the end for my Aloha Grille venture, it is the beginning for Buck’s Smoked BBQ. Like me, Buck is hoping to take his passion and turn it into a profitable venture. Here are some photos I took at Buck’s BBQ debut. It was a pleasure to be a part of someone’s dream and to capture the moments…

I wish him nothing but the best…

Looks like my detour is over and once again I am back on my life’s path to my destiny — where ever, whatever that may be. This also means I will be on the move again… I’m not sure what I will be doing other than knowing that I need to find work soon or else… so… this will probably be my last post for a while until I am settled. Please keep me in your prayers and good wishes…

Live The Aloha Spirit!

Emily

11 Comments on “The End… and… The Beginning

  1. You have the most positive outlook on life. Spending time with you son sounds like it was worth all the hard work you put into the restaurant. You will be in my thoughts.

  2. Wonderful that you had the opportunity to re-establish a relationship with your son. That is highly rewarding.
    Wishing you the best in your next venture!

  3. I love your attitude, Em. We should always look for the positive side of everything we go through, that’s how we grow. I wish you the best of luck, and I hope to hear from you soon!

  4. Hey …all life’s ups and downs make us who we are. So glad to hear the positive side with your son… on the other end I will not quote stats on how many restaurants fold, even people with deep pockets. All my best!!!!

  5. Good luck, Emily – I’ve just emailed you. I like these pictures – they have beautiful colouring, you’ve really caught the essence of the occasion. Adrian

  6. Anything that brings you closer to immediate family is well worth whatever effort and tribulations it may cost. I am very confident in your ability to choose the best among many possible paths and to land on your feet yet again. And you will most certainly have more memorable adventures along the way. Savor them and share them with us!

  7. I wish you the best…good fortune and good times along the way…and congrats on your relationship with your son…. :)

  8. Emily, you are too talented not to find something that resonates with you. I wish you all the best and will be thinking good things come your way!

  9. I’ll keep the prayers going. Emily I am so happy for you. We just never know in life what we will encounter as we step out of our comfort or uncomfortable zone..lol! I long to spend time with a couple of my adult children..

Leave a Reply

