Seeking Truth and Forgiveness on Route 66 – The Confession

By the time I pulled into the motel, El Trovatore; I felt achy, hungry and very tired from the long day of driving in the desert. Needless to say, I was looking forward to a nice cool shower and hopefully find a good steak dinner somewhere in town. Of course, the first thing I noticed about the motel was its affordable price and the retro looking neon sign at the entrance. But there was something quaint about the place that intrigues me. It was unlike any other motels I’ve ever stayed in. I could sense there’s probably a lot of history behind this motel. Little did I know, this was also where I would finally get to confess my sins and get the much-needed guidance to see the truth I’ve been seeking.

When I drove further into the property, the hand painted murals depicting different scenes and iconic Hollywood characters that covered many of the buildings instantly stirred up my creative mind. For a moment, I forgot about being tired and started to think like a photographer. I saw photo opportunities. However, my growling stomach reminded me that I’ve eaten only road food consisted of nuts, dried fruits, beef jerky and countless bottles of water.

I walked into the office to check in and noticed the room filled with mementos; life-size cut out of John Wayne, pictures of Hollywood legends and Route 66 souvenirs. Just then, a friendly looking man greeted me. I told him I wanted a room for a night. He asked me, “Who would you like to sleep with tonight?” His question surprised me. I wasn’t sure what he meant. “Excuse me?” I asked him. He then smiled and proceeds to explain to me that he offers theme rooms of Hollywood legends. “Oh!” I said, feeling dumb. Since I was so tired, and I just want a room to take a shower, I told him “I don’t care who I sleep with.” As he rattled off names… “John Wayne, James Dean, Clark Gable, Marilyn Monroe… ” By now I was more lucid and thought about the choices of who I would want to sleep with. Well… I told him: I never had a thing for John Wayne; I don’t need a complicated bad boy, like James Dean; while I find Clark Gable desirable, I’m not in the mood for a romantic interlude; and I find Marilyn too high maintenance. Then he said, well… there is Audrey. “Audrey Hepburn?” I asked. Yes, he replied. Good, I’ll sleep with Audrey any day. And the next thing, we started to talk about why we both like Audrey Hepburn: her amazing beauty and grace; her generosity and unpretentious self; and she died doing what she loved — by giving selflessly of her love and compassion to the needy.

I think that was our ice breaker… for the next hour or so, Sam: the motel owner and I talked and talked… I told him I was on an escape drive to find the true purpose of my life… and to find forgiveness for something terrible I did to someone I cared a great deal about. I told him about moving to a new town, buying a restaurant and lack of cash flow, dealing with negative people etc… blah… blah… blah… Sam in return told me about his challenges in life, and the trials and tribulations he had to deal with. We both found out that we bought our business at about the same time period. And that he was facing the same problems I was experiencing. The only difference… his place cost more money so he had a lot more to lose. However, he gave me hope that things will get better if I believe in myself. Whether my restaurant becomes financially successful or that I might have to face the choice of giving it up, I need to find what’s important to me and how it will affect my life.

It felt good confessing to a complete stranger on a road I’ve never traveled on before… and yet somehow, I know it was meant to be for us to meet. My intuition rarely ever steers me wrong if I choose to listen. Because Sam and his wife, Monica showed me some of the answers I was seeking during my two-day stay at El Trovatore. There are still a lot of uncertainties of what I’m facing… although, I know as long as I stay true to who I am — heart and soul. Things will eventually workout for the best as I continued on this journey of life…

This is Taco. El Trovatore’s official mascot. A homeless stray; who decided to pick the motel as his new home, eight months ago. His own journey of how he came to be their mascot would make an interesting story…

Here is the contact information for the motel. You can see images of what the rooms look like on their website.
EL TROVATORE MOTEL
1440 E Andy Devine Ave
Kingman, AZ 86401-Route 66
Tel: (928) 753-6520
Email: trovatore@suddenlinkmail.com

18 Comments on “Seeking Truth and Forgiveness on Route 66 – The Confession

  1. A very interesting piece of text to go with those brightly coloured photos. On thing though, you need to learn to forgive yourself before you can accept somebody else’s forgiveness. If you believe you’ve done wrong and are genuinely sorry then accept it and live for the future. :) Best of luck.

    • Thank you for the insightful words, Nigel. Yes, the trip definitely helped me find the truth to forgive myself and also to forgive those who wanted to hurt me for their own reasons.

  2. Hope you find lots of love and forgiveness!

    Your shots of Route 66 – in this post and the others – are fabulous.

    • Thank you, Lady Fi. I found a lot more than I have anticipated on this trip. Besides, the wonderful photo opportunities, I did find the forgiveness I was looking for. :)

  3. A fascinating story, Emily – I feel for you in your distress and hope your hopes will come true. Hurting people is painful afterwards, sometimes the further afterwards we are the more painful it is, but its in the past and its no good contimually beating ourselves up about it.

    I’m saying all this from experiences I’ve had – some of them were long ago when I was a gauche and stupid youngster, but some of them were not so long ago, and they’re the more hurtful ones.

    I wish you luck with your restaurant – not an easy job I’m sure. And I enjoy your writings and photos, they’re good! Adrian

  4. A wonderful post, Emily, and great shots of an amazing place. It’s so good to hear that the road you have taken is turning out to be so fulfilling, rewarding, and healing. Did you make any images of the inside of your Audrey room? Were there photos and posters of her? Sounds like a must for anyone on a similar journey!

    • Thanks for the compliment, Gary. The place is amazing. It definitely has a lot of character, not to mention it had many illicit affairs and history behind those closed doors. With the exception of Michael Jackson, I think many of the legendary movie stars named after the theme rooms have stayed at the motel. I took a few snap shots of Audrey’s room but they didn’t turn out the way I want. There were large photos of Audrey on the walls. And during my first night, I woke up in the middle of the night feeling her presence and yet I felt comforted. She sure was a beautiful woman. You can go to the motel website to see what the rooms look like. personally, I think Route 66 is a great trip for anyone regardless of what kind of journey you’re looking for. Because you just never know what you might find out in the lonely desert. ;)

  5. How awesome – the hotel and your journey. I hope you can find within yourself the forgiveness you are looking for. I am beginning a wish list of my Route 66 journey (hopefully next year) and will definitely add this place to the list! Thanks for sharing – I can’t wait to see more of your journey. Can you sleep with Katherine Hepburn here?

    • That’s fantastic Joylene! I think Route 66 is an amazing journey for anyone wanting to discover their inner self. Katherine Hepburn is another legend I would love to sleep with. But unfortunately, there is only room for one Hepburn at the motel.

      The trip definitely helped me see better . So far, I’ve been able to forgive the bad things other people have done to me though I’m still working on forgiving myself… and eventually I know I will learn to let it go. :)

Leave a Reply

