Seeking Truth and Forgiveness on Route 66 – Part 4

They say confession is good for the soul. And that’s exactly what I was hoping to find: to somehow confess my sins without the fear of being persecuted for my follies, and to restore my faith in humanity. I drove hundreds of miles in the hot desert sun — hoping to quiet the turmoil in my mind. Although I wasn’t exactly sure if I would find it on the desolate road of Route 66, I thought if nothing else; at least I got the opportunity to explore and shoot some of the most beautiful landscapes I’ve ever seen.

One of the things I noticed about the desert is how quickly the weather changes; it can be stormy and sunny at the same time. It was fascinating to see nomadic clouds constantly changing across the bright blue sky.

During my on foot discovery, I came across a herd of cattle out in the middle of the nowhere desert. They looked rather emaciated. Poor cows… judging from their protruding ribs, it seems as if they hadn’t eaten in weeks. Perhaps it was the desert heat, or that I was glad to see another life form — I found myself talking to the herd. Asking them if they belong to anyone… if they are hungry and thirsty… and for a moment, I thought about confessing to them my troubles but thought better when they started to move towards me. Quickly, I backed away from them. Don’t need a stampede of cows running after me.

As I continued to explore the desert life, I came across a herd of dall sheep hidden behind a big boulder. I was surprised to see these kinds of sheep in the desert. I always thought they were a cold climate animal. I used to see them often when I lived in Alaska. The male sheep would be very aggressive with each other so I knew better and shot them from a safe distance.

It was getting late by the time I came to the end of Route 66 or so I thought… I later learned that Route 66 starts at Santa Barbara, California and ends in Chicago, Illinois. I decided to seek shelter for the night in the town, Kingman. I have passed by this town earlier on my way to Oatman.

I drove back Kingman’s Route 66 thinking I would do the road again the next day. I’m sure there would be more interesting photo opportunities. However, I wish someone could do the driving so I can focus on just taking photographs. Well… unbeknownst to me, my wish would later come true.

There were plenty of motels of all sizes crowding on both sides of the road to choose from. Out of the corner of my eye, a colorful tower with the word El Tra… something caught my interest as I sped by… and my thought was to stop there but since I passed by it already, I thought I would just find another place ahead. However, my inner voice told me that I should go back to that colorful tower. After driving another few miles, I decided to listen to my inner voice and I made a u-turn to go back to that El something motel. And this is one of those moments that reinforce my belief that your intuition rarely steers you wrong…

20 Comments on “Seeking Truth and Forgiveness on Route 66 – Part 4

  1. Good post, Emily! I know just what you mean about wishing for someone to do the driving – and also about getting the urge to talk to animals when alone in lonely places!

    The third picture down, of the huge and threatening dark cloud is really impressive. Yes, like the others are saying >>> I’m looking forward to more instalments! Adrian

    • Thank you Adrian for the compliment. I have a thing for clouds and these clouds in the desert are no exception. Definitely a photographer’s paradise. During my stay at the motel, the owner invited me on his preliminary photography bus tour he will be offering. So… I got my wish of having someone to drive me. :)

  2. When I saw you walking in the desert with the mountains in the background, I said to myself “that has to be Kingman” and sure as rain.

    Nice work sis,

    LDS

    • Thanks, LDS. Kingman was a lot more interesting this time around than the first time I drove through there on my move to Prescott seven months ago.

  3. Your fourth and fifth images speak to me eloquently, Emily. I am following your journey of re-discovery and adventure very eagerly. Plese keep it up!

    • I’m glad to hear you are finding my discovery journey, interesting. I do have to admit, it was one of the most amazing re-discovery journey I’ve done in a very long time.

    • Thank you, Martina. For the most, I’m doing as well as I can be. I thought it was interesting when I found out that Route 66 ends in Chicago. Perhaps, you could take photos on your end. It would be great to see what your side looks like. :)

    • Thank you for the nice compliment, Martyn. Clouds are very fun and challenging to photograph. Seems like lately, we’ve been getting a lot of clouds around here. And they sure help make pretty sunsets.

Leave a Reply

